Confession 4: I’ve got a big butt and I cannot lie! These pant fits you just can’t deny!

Not everyone looks good in skinny jeans…….

 Conan

And there are just those people in the world who were blessed with a particular body type, who possess a certain confidence that allows them to wear just about anything. They are the friends you “accidentally” want to spill your drink on at the party because it’s seriously not fair at all. SPOILER ALERT: Even if you did spill that drink they’d act like they were straight out of a Mentos commercial and turn tragedy into a fashion triumph. MENTOS!

 I sadly am not one of those people. It doesn’t mean I cannot take risks with my fashion choices, but I certainly have to stay within certain boundaries. It was very clear the second I put on a pair of skinny jeans that they were a fit for skinny people…… they did not make you look skinny.

Pants have always been a struggle for me because I’ve got…..

  • tree trunk thighs
  • a muffin top even Mrs. Fields doesn’t want
  • and an A.S.S….. Absurdly Super Sized

As I have matured I have come to accept, even love my body, but not without a complete love-hate relationship, a lot of which stemmed around how clothing fit. And don’t even get me started on the images men are subjected to now in regard to body perfection. Ladies….. you’ve had it rough. I’m sorry for that.

I’ve spent countless hours in fitting rooms scoping out the better fits for my body type so that I can feel subconsciously confident on days when I don’t even want to begin thinking about what I am wearing. Have I found the perfect pair? Not quite sure, but the three I am going to share are pretty darn close.

Denim: Lucky Brand Relaxed Fits  ($99 – $130)

Most relaxed fit jeans end up being the dreaded DAD JEAN, and we’ll just leave that to Obama. And loose fit jeans tend to have no shape at all, even for the curvy chap. Lucky takes a different approach to thier denim fits by combining the relaxed qualities that work best for guys like me (wider thigh area, bit of a higher rise) with different fits that when left on their own make it a struggle to just get over my legs. For example the 455 Relaxed Bootfit takes everything that is unique about a boot fit, mainly the leg opening, and marries it with the characteristics of a relaxed fit by keeping more room in the thigh area.

455 Relaxed Boot Fit

455 Relaxed Boot Fit

The 455 is ideal in a darker wash so that you can pair it with a great pair of boots, button down, and blazer on a business casual Friday. I’d also recommend the 487 Relaxed Straight fit for the typical jeans-and-sneakers kind of day. My only qualm is I think Lucky Brand is sligghtly guilty of vanity sizing. I tend to wear a 38-40 W pant and I at times can fit into their 36 W with a little room. I’ll keep you all posted when I am legit down to a 36 waist!

TIP: When it comes to price, denim is the one item of clothing that I firmly believe you should not be thrifty on. Invest, if you will, in a more expensive pair of denim and you’ll have them for years. If you give  your e-mail address you’ll get 20% off your first on-line purchase! 

 

Casual Pant: Levi 514 Straight Fit Corduroy Pant ($40-$60):

I usually hide from corduroy like a Grammy hides from Paris Hilton. But having a great pair of corduroys to choose from helps diversify your wardrobe, especially during the fall months.

514 Straight Corduroy Pant

514 Straight Fit Corduroy Pant

Usually within 3-4 wears you can tell this big boy has been on the move because the inner thigh is whittled down to a smooth “R.I.P. ribbed texture” surface. Levi’s cords seem to be holding up much better than pairs I have bought in the past including Banana Republic, GAP, and Kenneth Cole. With at least 7 wears in, my thighs have not annihilated the crotch zone. And the fit is great too, even if it’s more straight than relaxed.

They hug the thigh and butt with just the right amount of snugness, because there is a nice elasticity to the corduroy. However they can tend to stretch a lil’ too much after a long wear, which can be a good or bad thing depending on how bloated you are on your cheat days. In other words, they do require more maintenance with regular laundry cycles.

Lastly their price is pretty reasonable for a piece that isn’t worn through all seasons.

At the Office: Dockers Alpha & Field Khaki ($29.99-54.99)

My day-to-day work attire is usually a pair of khakis, button down, tie etc. And when it comes to my work wardrobe, this is when I like to have a little fun with it, and shockingly Dockers came to the rescue. Both their Alpha Khaki and Field Khaki provide a touch of modern and comfort respectively.  

First, the variety of colors is fun, fresh, practical, and always in season. Usually I tend to keep it pretty simple in my out-of-office wear, but when I am at the office I like to show off my whimsy, if you will. I can start the week off with a traditional khaki, and by midweek show off my brighter side with a periwinkle hue.

Dockers Alpha Collection

Dockers Alpha Collection

Second, the fits are really great. The alpha fit sits right below the waist, but is roomier in the thigh area with a bit of a taper. I usually have to go up a size because my thighs are slightly wider than my waist. The field khaki is super comfortable. They sit at the waist, have plenty of room through the thigh and butt without losing the shape. I prefer the field khaki on days that I feel like a fat cow, which is usually they day after a cheat day, #pepperonipizza.

They both hold up really well for long 10-12 hour days. Plus they won’t kill your budget. Sure I’d love to have a regular stock of Bonobos khakis to choose from every day, but at $88 a pop I’m not convinced having a little plaid butt-pocket detail is worth it. I’ll let my booty speak for itself.

ONE FINAL TIP: eliminate anxiety or frustration of time consuming shopping trips by wearing shoes that slip on and off easily (i.e. no laces) and just wear a t-shirt that you can easily remove and put back on.

If you have any questions or fits you think I should try on for size leave a comment below!

And just for taking the time to read this here’s another 30 second treat…..

This entry was posted in Fashion, Opinion, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment