Confession 3: I’m In Love With 3 Different People (on Twitter)

It’s been 5 days since my last confession….. and my penance is to share my TOP 3 favorite people on Twitter right now!

These individuals are inspirational to me, and motivate me to take my unique lifestyle perspective to the next level. One nod of approval from any of these 3 would be worth every key stroke! So why should I have all the fun and access to these exceptional tweeps?! Here are my favorites for the months of October (do I smell a series?). Enjoy!

Martha Stewart @MarthaStewart

DIY_Martha_Stewart_Crafts_Host_alIt wasn’t up until about 3 weeks ago that my admiration for this woman turned into bonafide love. In a recent interview, the foremother of modern day lifestyle very candidly offered some curt yet “everybody’s thinking it” advice to one of the most annoying celebrity wanna-be lifestyle gurus, Gwyneth ‘goopy” Paltrow.

“She’s a movie star. If she were confident in her acting, she wouldn’t be trying to be Martha Stewart,”

 

Not quite the endorsement Ms. Paltrow would probably be hoping for, but I am sure in her “I’m above it all, life is hard being rich” schtick she’ll be just fine. In fact, in the most passive aggressive move in celebrity lifestyle drama history, Gwenyth went and hired Martha’s former CEO this week. Oh, no she didn’t!!!! Has anyone called BRAVO?! I think we have your next hit right here…..

What really matters here though is that Martha is the Buddha of lifestyle, and her Twitter account is chock full of advice, glimpses into her personal/professional lives, affirmation that life is wonderful surrounded by things you’ve cultivated and/or made, and recipes that always make my inner fatboy smile.

Sure we don’t have the exact same tastes, but at 73 (yes 73, and looks damn good!!!) she continues decade after decade to influence America’s take on Thanksgiving traditions and summer outings. Even after serving a 5-month jail sentence for some shady stock selling, and not always being portrayed in the media for being the most friendly person or even-tempered boss, Ms. Stewart manages to stay true to her image. She embraces it and owns how the public perceives her. In the very rare moments that she attempts humor it’s either very biting or “cute” in the sense that she’s trying, but knows she was not put on earth to be a comedian.

That authenticity has never wavered throughout her career, and whether you love her or hate her, authenticity indicates someone’s conviction in their passion for what they do and vice-versa. An endorsement from her is what I would consider the holy grail of lifestyle endorsements. Gwyneth, dear, a non-endorsement really means you should give it up.

Bob Harper @MyTrainerBob

2013_1016_Biggest-Loser_Bio_Bob_Harper_JS

This guy is the reason I still tune in to the Biggest Loser. His fitness empire is not one of gimmicks and quick fixes, which is so important to how I approach my health goals. It’s about sustainable lifelong choices compared to to fad diets.

I have just recently started following Bob on Twitter, and I have to say he is one of the few celebrity Twitter accounts that I don’t think some tired intern of an assistant is furiously typing tweet after Instagram post after Google+ promo with their tiny fingers like a modern day sweatshop worker. It’s authentic.

Am I seeing a pattern here?

He has tattoos, he smiles, he yells, he is relatable. His nice guy image works for him because if I were to ever go on the Biggest Loser I would totally pick Bob. Jillian Michaels scares the hell out of me.

Although he is required to get his Biggest Loser contestants to lose a shit ton of weight, he is always trying to get them to look past the pounds and fix not only the physical, but the mental & emotional as well. Similar to some of his tweets. He tries to dig deep into whatever it is in each player’s life that allowed obesity to become a reality for them. Those who lose the most weight typically are the one’s who are most honest with themselves.

In my 20’s I’d joke that I would purposely balloon up to 300+ lbs just so that I could try out for the Biggest Loser. Bob however would most likely think that I  was sociopathic and that’s not the point of the Biggest Loser, at least as far as he is concerned. Bob’s influence is important to how I structure my day-to-day and what I share with you all because it’s all about being your best self. Sure he uses words like skinny and fit, which are not always the best goal words to use, but his methods work. His authority in sustainable health & fitness goals are part of the lifestyle landscape I am making efforts in becoming an expert in.

Tom Ford @Tom_Ford

Tom-Ford-01I am slightly biased here because I have quite the crush on Mr. Ford, but in all seriousness he is one of the reasons I began taking notice of fashion, style, and trends since my early twenties. Although his Twitter presence is not as authentic as the previous two, he is someone that has built up enough credibility with me through pre-social media channels that I will continue to use him and his brand as a standard for my style and fashion inspiration.

His posts are typically geared towards his fashion lines and brand, but I have always looked at fashion as art in many ways. I may not visit the Museum of Fine Arts regularly, but I have an insurmountable level of respect for individuals who breathe life into fabrics, silhouettes, and clothing. We all draw inspiration from things that engage the right side of the brain whether it be paintings, poetry, architecture, or in my case fashion and that is why I keep a pulse on this very tasteful and modern man. Take a look……..

Tom Ford GQ rihanna_metgala_tomford

 

Now that I’ve shared my 3 favorite Tweeps, go out there and explore their extraordinary talents and find your own who share your specific passions!

This entry was posted in Education, Fashion, Fitness, Health, Lifestyle, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confession 3: I’m In Love With 3 Different People (on Twitter)

  1. reallyleila says:

    Excellent post! This was very well written with great insight on your Influencers! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment