Confession 7: I am homesick #BUFFALOVE

When I tell people I’ve just met that I am from Buffalo, NY (because they are too lame to have any original questions to ask) I often get the, “Oh, I’m sorry.” snotty reply, (because they are again too lame to have anything original to follow up with).

If you have been buried under snow over these past couple of days you may have missed the insanity occurring in my hometown — which is literally buried under snow.

Literally a wall of snow!

Literally a wall of snow!

And it’s times like this that I get most homesick for my hometown, not because I am a snow bunny by any means, but because I know the majority of the citizens are representing the city’s motto of “City of Good Neighbors” in full effect!

Friends and family are shoveling or literally digging people out of their homes.

digging out buffalo

Local authorities and volunteers are being vigilant to check on the elderly, even carrying people on foot to hospitals or near by shelters.

hospitalbuffao

Locals even turned to social media to make people aware of those stranded.

Some are even taking a moment to marvel and simply laugh at the epic-ness of this storm….

Now I know Marquise Goodwin is not originally from Buffalo, but when you settle there, even for just a lil' while you become one of us!

Now I know Marquise Goodwin of the Buffalo Bills is not originally from Buffalo, but when you settle there, even for just a lil’ while you become one of us!

These are only a few examples of what makes me so proud to be a Buffalonian. I admit I’ve become rather jaded here in Boston, but not because of the natives. Yeah there are some that are rough around the edges, but in fact the people who are originally from Boston have a lot of the same neighborly characteristics. It’s those that converge here from less than neighborly areas of this country that give the city it’s somewhat unfortunate standoff-ish reputation.

So as another storm gets underway in Buffalo I have this message for those lame, unoriginal, wanna-be-elitist, pricks who say “Oh, I’m sorry,” when I reveal my origins. (Wait am I a super hero…??!!)

I am very proud to be a Buffalonian, mainly because it’s a city that nurtures its people. We don’t try to be something we are not, we embrace our quirkiness and history, and we try to progress for the betterment of all of our citizens. Buffalo certainly isn’t a Eutopia by any means, but if all of what you consider awful about Buffalo means it will keep terrible, judgmental people like you along with your attitude out, GOOD because you would not be welcomed to begin with! 

I love Buffalo, and Buffalo loves me…… #BUFFALOVE!

This entry was posted in Friendship, Humor, Just Because and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment